A little bit about wedding flowers

Well I did warn you, it was there plain for all to see in my last post, not all posts will relate to my garden. The majority will but I will occasionally get distracted and go off on a tangent. This time I want to share some flowers with you, the lovely flowers that we had at our wedding last month.

We planned our wedding in 5 months, there was none of this pre-wedding stress you here about, it was all very simple and easy.  We knew what we wanted but were very laid back about it all, it was a day for us and our friends and family.  I remember back in February the question of flowers came up, we were sat in my mums living room and on the wall was a photograph of some pinky/lilac peonies, something like that I said would be nice. This then gave rise to a whole discussion on colour themes for the day, things that I just hadn’t considered. I was told that peonies were too heavy for a bouquet and a pinky/lilac colour theme would be hard to match up.  I toddled off thinking nothing more of it until the day I had to go dress shopping.  I bought one wedding magazine at the beginning of the 5 months and this became a little bible for a few weeks.  In the back it had a photograph of a handtied bouquet made up with pink peonies, lilac roses and orange roses.  I took this tiny photo to show the florist that afternoon and explained we wanted informal english country garden flowers for our wedding in May, she knew exactly what I meant and told me that the orange flowers in the picture didn’t work, I agreed. Here is what she delivered:

The Bouquet

Everything else fell into place, the men had lilac waistcoats, ties and handkerchiefs with a cream rose buttonhole. We had pew-ends with a pale pink rose, green leaves and lilac ribbons which looked lovely and we had two podiums and a table piece.  Being the very relaxed people that we are I left pretty much everything up to the florist confident in her ability to provide a stunning display and she did not disappoint. Whilst out having photos taken you can see in the middle image that a bee thought it had struck gold when it discovered the bouquet 🙂

The podium display

I don’t think the photo does this justice, it was huge. I did not see these until I was in the ceremony but when I did I was thrilled, she had captured May in an english garden, the display was full of hollyhocks, alliums, roses… and all in pretty colours, it worked wonderfully.

The Wedding Cake

The theme continued through the the wedding cake with cream and pink peonies, roses and some wax flowers. The cake was from Marks and Spencers, it came with ivory icing and a ribbon round each layer, to decorate it I again asked the florist to provide flowers for between the tiers, a really affordable way to have a perfect wedding cake 🙂

The Tables

For the tables we wanted to again keep it informal and pretty. I was trying to work out the cheapest way of doing everything and was not sure whether to go to Ikea and buy £1 vases and fill them with little bouquets of mixed flowers from somewhere or get it all done together, I told the florist my dilemma and she again took it all out of my hands and hired in the vases and filled them with pretty hollyhocks and roses, she also tied the table bouquets together so that people could take them away at the end of the day, very reasonable for £10 🙂

The Wedding Favours

For the wedding favours and still trying to keep costs down I ordered personalised M&Ms in pink and lilac to match the colour scheme. They were very cute but the week before the wedding I discovered that Marks and Spencers had some seed favours at only £1 a packet and with a week to go I ordered them. They contained forget-me-nots and had lovely slogans written across the front 🙂

The seed favours

There are more flowers in the portrait photos but I still have all of those to edit but we got some lovely shots against some lupins and aquilegia  and set against a wall of ivy, that is enough though of me waffling today, my lawn needs cutting and there is weeding to be done 🙂

The photos are by Fossca Photography and the flowers from Orange Blossom Florists

About heathermcqueen

I love learning and creating. Sharing my experiences with you I hope to learn more and inspire others. I am madly in love with everything, determined to find the positive in everything. I can usually be found sewing, gardening, sometimes baking whilst listening to an eclectic mix of music when I am not pandering to the whims of a toddler, working full time and studying for a degree.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A little bit about wedding flowers

  1. Your flowers were lovely. I have been a florist for almost 20 years, and have never, never heard about peonies being too heavy. Most weddings we design in peony season include them.

    • Thank you for your comments. Rest assured it was not a forist who insisted that they would be too heavy. We had them round the house for a good week or so after the wedding, they were fantastic 🙂

  2. Ronnie Tyler says:

    What a lovely post, thank you for sharing your wedding day. The flowers are absolutely fabulous! My youngest daughter is getting married on Saturday (2 Jul) and I am hoping the florist does us proud like your florist did you. She is having blue hydrangeas for the bridesmaids, and ivory roses for her bouquet, with a mixture of hydrangea heads and roses on the tables.

    • That sounds lovely, my blue hydrangeas are just starting to peek their heads out at the moment, I imagine her bouquet will look stunning with the ivory roses too 🙂

      I hope you all have a fabulous day 🙂

  3. Cathy says:

    Your wedding was absolutely lovely! I think you hit the nail on the head – keep it laid back and relaxed and enjoy the day! Congratulations, and best wishes for a wonderful life together!

  4. You are so smart to have been so relaxed and not spent a fortune on flowers. What you achieved was beautiful–I hope you are actively recommending that wonderful florist to everyone you know.

  5. Your flowers are absolutely beautiful, no wonder the bee was attracted to them. Love the flowers on your wedding cake too, what a super idea. Wish you both every happiness together.

  6. Hello There. I found your website using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback. Stevie Hancin

Leave a Reply

