The completely neglected garden

My garden has now been completely neglected for the past 5 weeks, I have not been to investigate the greenhouse in 2 weeks and the veg patch is now hidden out of sight by the weeds that have taken over. I can see from the bedroom that the mallow plant I grew from a cutting is now 3ft tall and about 3ft wide and is covered in lovely pink flowers, this makes me smile.

I have been diagnosed with hyperememesis gravidarum, the most severe form of morning sickness, I have pretty much been rendered useless. Imagine having horrendous food poisoning for a couple of days and how drained and exhausted it makes you feel and then imagine having this for almost 5 weeks!
The beginning of this week saw me admitted to hospital and attached to a drip until they were happy I was once again hydrated.  

I now find myself at home, signed off from work for 3 whole weeks and still unable to do an awful lot. One of the main things I am struggling with is the state of the garden, I see glimpses of the mess every time I pass a window and feel a little helpless. I can’t imagine what the neighbours must think of this abandoned jungle 🙂

One thing I have had plenty of time to do is read endless seed catalogues and make grand plans in my head, I am just desperate to out the plans in to action, new beds need to be dug, trees need to be dealt with. All that is left to do is break the news to my wonderful husband how much work he is going to have to do to help enact these plans 🙂

Hubby has been busy building and painting a lovely new chicken coop and run, I am quite excited about this but think we may delay the chicken purchase until I am feeling just a little bit more on track 🙂

I apologise for the lack of pictures this week, they will come as will many more posts when my garden realises that I really do still love it and hopefully it will forgive me for the complete neglect it has suffered.

Please visit this website which aims to raise awareness of this condition: http://www.helpher.org/

About heathermcqueen

I love learning and creating. Sharing my experiences with you I hope to learn more and inspire others. I am madly in love with everything, determined to find the positive in everything. I can usually be found sewing, gardening, sometimes baking whilst listening to an eclectic mix of music when I am not pandering to the whims of a toddler, working full time and studying for a degree.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The completely neglected garden

  1. Jenni Clay says:

    Congratulations Heather……wonderful news! I do hope you are feeling much better very soon, the garden will be waiting for you. x

    • Thank you 🙂
      I am going completely spare sat around at home unable to do anything, I have just dug out my Nigella Domestic Godess book and this afternoon may be spent in the kitchen rather than on the sofa.

      • Jenni Clay says:

        Equally as rewarding! I am just about to make a start on some baking, my parent’s orchard is keeping me busy! SO when is Baby Pearson due? x

      • Well dough is in a warm spot rising 🙂 I still need to use what is left from last years harvest that is stored in the freezer before I can even contemplate this years fruits, I will save them for next week.
        All being well baby Pearson is due in Feb, once I get over this awful phase I will begin to enjoy the wait I think.

  2. Jenni Clay says:

    Awe fantastic! Try some recipes with ginger….might help with the sickness!!! Are you sure there is just one baby? My sister-in-law was just the same and she has TWINS! 😉 Congratulations again to you both and I wish every health and happiness through your pregnancy xxx

  3. Hope you soon feel better and congratulations on your wonderful news ! Using this time to make wonderful plans for your garden is the next best thing to actually doing it – enjoy !

Leave a Reply

