Almost a year

In three weeks time it will be a year since my last post. It seems like only last month but I know this is not true as there have been so many changes both inside and out, the garden having been neglected all of autumn and winter has had much attention lavished on it over spring and into summer but i still feel I am barely scratching the surface.

Back in April on a beautiful saturday morning I was trying to explain my garden plans to my very patient husband, it was months since I had been out there and I was desperate to get on with things, I had been enviously watching my neighbour pottering about in his garden with all it’s early spring colour from bulbs that I had had every intention of planting last year but didn’t. I had months stretching out ahead of me at home on maternity leave and i had visions of my beautiful daughter contentedly sleeping in her pram or watching and cooing as i created a garden for us all to enjoy. My husband needed to see a drawing, it was no good me having these ideas and plans in my head, if I needed help he needed an image, so what follows is a very poor sketch, not to scale obviously and produced quickly on my iPad whilst he thought i was wasting time on Facebook ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

I know, I know. It is terrible but it did the trick, I now had the help I needed. The idea was to fence off an area of lawn from the dog where we could eat and Flossie could crawl around and play on her own patch of grass. This would have an archway and gate in the middle leading to the rest of the garden and acting as a central focal point from the dining room. Down the side of this area would be flower beds with simply lavender and annuals such as cosmos, very baby friendly, lavender for it’s scent and cosmos for the colours.ย 

Beyond this archway and fence would be grown up garden with swing seat and big flower beds and beyond that would be a fenced off veg garden.

Image

The fence could not be too imposing, we chose trellis to make a fence so that we could see through it and grow things through it to soften it slightly. We still have the water feature in the lawn that was there when we moved in, it would be too much work to take it out, it is all concreted in, but I think we will change it eventually.

One problem area that i am currently ignoring is the lower patio. In the image below you can see the over grown ivy and then the bath we found underneath it. I have left it as you see it below at the moment as not sure what to do.

ย 

Image

The visions I had of Flossie patiently and contentedly spending time in the garden sleeping and watching were just that, visions. I grab time to spend outside as and when I can, an hour here and there when my hubby can entertain her for a while. In three weeks time my maternity leave will be over and I will be back at work, but we have had a lovely six months visiting other gardens, sampling tea rooms and I will post some pictures of those too when I get five minutes. I also have news of some other new arrivals in the household which entertain us all greatly ๐Ÿ™‚

About heathermcqueen

I love learning and creating. Sharing my experiences with you I hope to learn more and inspire others. I am madly in love with everything, determined to find the positive in everything. I can usually be found sewing, gardening, sometimes baking whilst listening to an eclectic mix of music when I am not pandering to the whims of a toddler, working full time and studying for a degree.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

